Memorigin

Memorigin watches

Memorigin is a Hong Kong-based watch manufacturer founded in 2011 by William Shum. The brand specializes in tourbillon watches, which are often associated with Swiss luxury watch brands. The tourbillon movement is produced in only a handful of factories worldwide, which are traditionally sold in retail stores at high five- or six-digit prices (USD). Memorigin, on the other hand, offers around 100 high-quality tourbillons in the mid-price segment, at prices between USD 3,800 and USD 38,000 - and all of them are designed to reflect Hong Kong's love of Chinese symbolism, pop culture kitsch and flash. They feature curved dragons, jade panels, cartoon pandas, Marvel superheroes and even Bruce Lee in gold.

To underpin the quality of its watches, Memorigin has had a quality inspection process carried out by Ogawa Satoshi Yukari, an accredited watch repair specialist from the renowned Watch Repair Master watch inspection centre in Osaka. The test consisted of a time accuracy test in six directions (left, right, up, down, face up and face down) and a water resistance test. The result was excellent, as both the time accuracy test and the waterproofness test achieved the highest award category.

Bartels Watches is official dealer for Memorigin

Bartels Watches is an authorized dealer of Hong Kong Memorigin watches since 2013. We work closely together with Memorigin to offer you the best selection of men's and women's tourbillon watches at a fair price. All Memorigin watches come with a complete set of papers and warranty cards and are new. Since we only sell watches online, we can offer you the best deals and fastest delivery times. Start today and add some Tourbillons to your watch collection.

Memorigin collections & models

The first watch model sold by the brand was the 2011 edition of the 'Antique', which was available in retail for $3,800. Since its launch, the watchmaker has focused on high-end collectibles such as its 2013 'Emperor Jade' model. The Emperor Jade featured translucent leaves with precious hand-carved stones. This particular model was at the top end of the Memorigin range and cost $38,000.

In cooperation with global brands, Memorigin has also designed watches that are used as merchandise items. Their Marvel watch collection featured famous figures on the dials, such as Iron Man and Captain America. Also in cooperation with Hasbro or Warner Brothers, watches with Batman and Superman motifs have been designed. The focus on superheroes is due to the Chinese interest in comics and their film adaptation. Founder William Shum explained: "Most Hong Kongers between the ages of 30 and 50 like superheroes because we grew up with many of them and they represent justice".

When asked about the difference between Chinese tourbillons and Swiss tourbillons, Shum replied: "Chinese watches are evolving, and the target customers are not the same as those who buy exclusively Swiss watches. Swiss watches are produced in smaller quantities with a strong passion for traditional design and filigree functions. Chinese watches are now produced in larger quantities at lower prices".

The company now offers a wide range of tourbillon watches with automatic and manual winding calibres. Some of the most popular models are:

  • Stellar
  • Orbit
  • Grand
  • Navigator
  • Military

Characteristic features of the Stellar are its 18-carat white gold planetarium, its specially manufactured sapphire crystal and its spherical world time display. In contrast, the Orbit series has a very classic layout with a moon phase, a GMT display and a handmade skeletonized rotor for the automatic movement. The Grand Series has a large date complication, which is a combination of two discs in two adjacent openings. This is not only a very elegant but also a very practical watch complication that requires perfect synchronization between the two discs. Another very useful complication is found in the navigator, the power reserve indicator. As a hand-wound watch, the Navigator series must be wound every 80 hours. The remaining power of the calibre is indicated by a display on the dial. Memorigin also has a military watch collection in a black PVD coated case with large yellow indices, reminiscent of the classic military and aviation watches. Easy to read and robust, the Military is a sporty watch that should not be missing in any collection.

Memorigin watches are unique in their design

The tourbillon watches from Memorigin are unique because they fuse Chinese and Western design elements. When founding Memorigin, Shum declared that he wanted to create watches that had "Swiss precision with Chinese characteristics".

In an interview with Forbes, Shum explained that memoriginal watches are often designed in collaboration with well-known watch collectors from Hong Kong. Memorigin has always aspired to be a bespoke watch brand rather than a mass manufacturer.

The beginnings of Mermorigin

William Shum founded the Memorigin watch brand in 2011, which is based in Hong Kong, China. Shum previously attended the University of Southern California and Cornell. After graduating from Cornell University, he returned to Hong Kong, where he initially worked as an investment banker. His early interest in tourbillon watches can be traced back to his father, who was one of the investors in a watch factory in Hangzhou, China. The factory had been producing tourbillon movements since 2000.

Memorigin - Tourbillon perfection at a low price

Like many Chinese manufacturers, the factory in which Shum Senior invested had the technical know-how to produce reliable movements, but not the ability to create and launch its own watch brand. In the context of the founding of Memorigin, Shum was quoted as saying: "There were only about 30 factories around the world producing tourbillons, and only a few in China". In the same interview with the New York Times, Shum explained that there was a limited supply of Swiss tourbillon watches on the market and that they were very expensive. He believed that tourbillon watches at more affordable prices were lacking in the watch market.

If you are wondering what the typical cost of some of the most famous Tourbillon watches is, here is a brief comparison.

Prices of Tourbillon watches

Model

Price (ca.)

Patek Philippe Sky Moon Tourbillon, Ref. 6002G

1.400.000 €

A. Lange & Söhne Tourbograph "Pour le Mérite," Ref. 712.050

380.000 €

Breguet Classique Grande Complication Double Tourbillon, Ref. 5347

300.000 €

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Gyrotourbillon 2, Ref. 2332420

250.000 €

Moritz Grossmann Benu Tourbillon, MG-000004

155.000 €

Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Tourbillon Extra-Thin, Ref. 26510ST.00.1220ST.01

100.000 €

Emile Chouriet Tourbillon

100.000 €

Zenith El Primero Tourbillon, Ref. 03.2050.4035/21.C630

45.000 €

IWC Portugieser Tourbillon, Ref. IW544705

40.000 €

Frédérique Constant Manufacture Tourbillon, Ref. FC-980N4S6

30.000 €

Memorigin Stellar Series, Ref. 4894379660110

4.500 €

Memorigin Grand Series, Ref. 4894379750248

3.750 €

EN
EN

Memorigin

Memorigin Uhren

Memorigin ist ein in Hongkong ansässiger Uhrenhersteller, der 2011 von William Shum gegründet wurde. Die Marke ist auf Tourbillon-Uhren spezialisiert, die oft mit Schweizer Luxusuhrenmarken assoziiert werden. Das Tourbillon-Uhrwerk wird weltweit nur in einer Handvoll Fabriken hergestellt, die traditionell im Einzelhandel zu hohen fünf- oder sechsstelligen Preisen (USD) verkauft werden. Memorigin hingegen, bietet rund 100 qualitativ hochwertige Tourbillon im mittleren Preissegment, zu Preisen zwischen 3.800 und 38.000 Dollar an - und alle sind so gestaltet, dass sie Hongkongs Liebe zu chinesischer Symbolik, Popkultur-Kitsch und Flash widerspiegeln. Sie zeigen geschwungene Drachen, Jade-Paneele, Cartoon-Pandas, Marvel-Superhelden und sogar Bruce Lee in Gold.

Um die Qualität seiner Uhren zu untermauern, hat Memorigin einen Qualitätsprüfungsprozess durch Ogawa Satoshi Yukari, einen anerkannten Uhrenreparaturfachmann des renommierten Uhrenprüfzentrums in Osaka - Watch Repair Master - durchführen lassen. Der Test bestand aus einem Zeitgenauigkeitstest in sechs Richtungen (links, rechts, oben, unten, mit der Vorderseite nach oben und unten) und einem Wasserdichtigkeitstest. Das Ergebnis war hervorragend, da sowohl der Zeitgenauigkeits- als auch der Wasserdichtigkeitstest die höchste Auszeichnungskategorie erreichten.

Bartels Watches ist offizieller Händler für Memorigin

Bartels Watches ist seit 2013 autorisierter Händler von Hong Kong Memorigin Uhren. Wir arbeiten eng mit Memorigin zusammen, um Ihnen die beste Auswahl an Herren- und Damen-Tourbillonuhren zu einem fairen Preis anbieten zu können. Alle Memorigin Uhren werden mit einem kompletten Satz an Papieren und Garantiekarten geliefert und sind neu. Da wir ausschließlich Uhren online verkaufen, können wir Ihnen die besten Angebote und schnellsten Lieferzeiten anbieten. Starten Sie noch heute und fügen Sie einige Tourbillons zu Ihrer Uhrensammlung hinzu.

Memorigin Kollektionen & Modelle

Das erste Uhrenmodell, das von der Marke verkauft wurde, war die Ausgabe 2011 der 'Antique', die für 3.800 US-Dollar im Einzelhandel erhältlich war. Seit ihrer Lancierung hat sich der Uhrenhersteller auf hochwertige Sammlerstücke wie ihr 2013er Modell 'Emperor Jade' verlegt. Die 'Emperor Jade' enthielt durchscheinende Blätter mit kostbaren handgeschnitzten Steinen. Dieses spezielle Modell gehörte zum oberen Ende der Memorigin-Reihe und kostete 38.000 US-Dollar.

Memorigin hat in Zusammenarbeit mit globalen Marken auch Uhren entworfen, die als Merchandise Artikel eingesetzt werden. Ihre Marvel-Uhrenkollektion zeigte bekannte Figuren auf den Zifferblättern, wie Iron Man und Captain America. Auch in Zusammenarbeit mit Hasbro oder Warner Brothers wurden bereits Uhren bspw. mit Batman- und Supermanmotiven entworfen. Die Fokussierung auf Superhelden ist auf das chinesische Interesse an Comics und deren Verfilmung zurückzuführen. Gründer William Shum erklärte dazu: "Die meisten Hongkonger im Alter zwischen 30 und 50 Jahren mögen Superhelden, weil wir mit vielen von ihnen aufgewachsen sind und sie Gerechtigkeit repräsentieren".

Auf die Frage nach dem Unterschied zwischen chinesischen Tourbillons und Schweizer Tourbillons antwortete Shum: "Chinesische Uhren entwickeln sich, und die Zielkunden sind nicht die gleichen wie diejenigen, die ausschliesslich Schweizer Uhren kaufen. Schweizer Uhren werden mit einer starken Leidenschaft für traditionelles Design und filigrane Funktionen in geringeren Stückzahlen hergestellt. Chinesische Uhren werden heute in grösseren Mengen zu günstigeren Preisen hergestellt".

Mittlerweile bietet das Unternehmen eine breite Palette von Tourbillonuhren mit automatischem und manuellem Aufzugskaliber an. Einige der gefragtesten Modelle sind:

  • Stellar
  • Orbit
  • Grand
  • Navigator
  • Military

Charakteristisch für die Stellar sind ihr 18 Karat Weißgold-Planetarium, ihr speziell gefertigtes Saphirglas sowie ihre sphärische Weltzeitanzeige. Im Gegensatz dazu hat die Orbit-Serie ein sehr klassisches Layout mit einer Mondphase, einer GMT-Anzeige und einem handgefertigten skelettierten Rotor für das automatische Uhrwerk. Die Grand Series verfügt über eine große Datums-Komplikation, die eine Kombination von zwei Scheiben in zwei nebeneinander liegenden Öffnungen ist. Dies ist nicht nur eine sehr elegante, sondern auch eine sehr praktische Uhrenkomplikation, die eine perfekte Synchronisation zwischen den beiden Scheiben erfordert. Eine weitere sehr nützliche Komplikation findet sich in der Navigator, die Gangreserveanzeige. Als Handaufzugsuhr muss die Navigator-Serie alle 80 Stunden aufgezogen werden. Die verbleibende Leistung des Kalibers wird durch eine Anzeige auf dem Zifferblatt dargestellt. Memorigin hat auch eine militärische Uhrenkollektion in einem schwarzen PVD beschichteten Gehäuse mit großen, gelben Indizes, die an die klassischen Militär- und Fliegeruhren erinnern. Leicht ablesbar und robust, ist die Military eine sportliche Uhr, die in keiner Kollektion fehlen darf.

Memorigin Uhren sind einzigartig in ihrem Design

Die Tourbillonuhren von Memorigin sind einzigartig, weil sie chinesische und westliche Designelemente miteinander verschmelzen. Bei der Gründung von Memorigin erklärte Shum, er wolle Uhren schaffen, die "Schweizer Präzision mit chinesischen Eigenschaften" besitzen.

In einem Interview mit Forbes erklärte Shum, dass Memorigin-Uhren oft in Zusammenarbeit mit bekannten Uhrensammlern aus Hongkong entworfen werden. Memorigin hat schon immer den Anspruch bekundet, eher eine maßgeschneiderte Uhrenmarke als ein Massenhersteller zu werden.

Die Anfänge von Mermorigin

William Shum gründete 2011 die Uhrenmarke Memorigin, die ihren Sitz in Hongkong, China, hat. Shum besuchte zuvor die Universitäten University of Southern California und Cornell. Nach seinem Abschluss an der Cornell University kehrte er nach Hongkong zurück, wo er zunächst als Investmentbanker tätig war. Sein frühes Interesse an Tourbillonuhren, ist auf seinene Vater zurückzuführen, der einer der Investoren einer Uhrenfabrik in Hangzhou, China, war. Die Fabrik stellte seit 2000 Tourbillon-Uhrwerke her.

Memorigin – Tourbillon Perfektion zum kleinen Preis

Wie viele chinesische Hersteller verfügte die Fabrik, in die Shum Senior investierte, über das technische Know-how zur Herstellung zuverlässiger Uhrwerke, aber nicht über die Möglichkeit, eine eigene Uhrenmarke zu schaffen und auf den Markt zu bringen. Im Rahmen der Gründung von Memorigin wurde Shum mit den Worten zitiert: "Es gab nur etwa 30 Fabriken auf der ganzen Welt, die Tourbillon herstellen, und nur wenige in China". Im selben Interview mit der New York Times erklärte Shum, dass es eine begrenztes Angebot an Schweizer Tourbillonuhren auf dem Markt gebe und diese sehr teuer seien. Er war der Meinung, dass Tourbillon-Uhren zu erschwinglicheren Preisen auf dem Uhrenmarkt fehlen würden.

Falls Sie sich fragen, was die typischen Kosten einiger der berühmtesten Tourbillon-Uhren sind, hier ein kurzer Vergleich.

Preise von Tourbillon Uhren

Modell

Preis (ca.)

Patek Philippe Sky Moon Tourbillon, Ref. 6002G

1.400.000 €

A. Lange & Söhne Tourbograph "Pour le Mérite," Ref. 712.050

380.000 €

Breguet Classique Grande Complication Double Tourbillon, Ref. 5347

300.000 €

Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso Gyrotourbillon 2, Ref. 2332420

250.000 €

Moritz Grossmann Benu Tourbillon, MG-000004

155.000 €

Audemars Piguet Royal Oak Tourbillon Extra-Thin, Ref. 26510ST.00.1220ST.01

100.000 €

Emile Chouriet Tourbillon

100.000 €

Zenith El Primero Tourbillon, Ref. 03.2050.4035/21.C630

45.000 €

IWC Portugieser Tourbillon, Ref. IW544705

40.000 €

Frédérique Constant Manufacture Tourbillon, Ref. FC-980N4S6

30.000 €

Memorigin Stellar Series, Ref. 4894379660110

4.500 €

Memorigin Grand Series, Ref. 4894379750248

3.750 €

 

 

DE
DE